Submitted platforms were eligible for the program if they covered a translational research area in medicine, involved at least one institution from the ETH domain (ETHZ, EPFL, PSI etc.) and at least one University with a Medical Faculty and/or University Hospital. They also had to include both, research groups with a focus on fundamental research and research groups that are focused on patient-oriented clinical research and provide access to relevant patient populations.

Each of the participating Universities/University Hospitals and each of the participating institutions of the ETH domain had to nominate one principle investigator (PI). One of the institutions had to be designated as Leading House; a PI affiliated with the Leading House was appointed Coordinating PI. Each platform was directed by an Executive Committee consisting of representatives of the involved research groups (typically the PI or a senior member of a research group), and of a representative of the Board of the leading house (typically a dean, rector, president or one of their deputies). The Executive Committee was chaired by the Coordinating PI.

Research positions at various levels and with a variety of scientific backgrounds could be funded by the platform. These could be at the level of post-doc and other research assistance, or as assistant professors with or without tenure track. If assistant professors were appointed as tenure track, the institution had to offer a permanent position at the end of the funding period to candidates who fulfill a set of predefined criteria.

PhD students could also be funded through the platforms. PhD students had to be co-supervised by investigators from an ETH institutions and a university. Students had to be exposed to both basic and clinical research and acquired a range of skills preparing them for continued work in translational research.